Angela Aki – Tegami ~Minna no Uta ver.~

3 08 2008

As promise here is the PV of Angela Aki “Tegami” from Minna no Uta on NHK Channel.

This is the full version of the song.

Romanji Lyrics + Translation:

TEGAMI

Haikei kono tegami yonde iru anata wa
Doko de nani wo shite iru no darou
Chuugo no boku ni wa
Dare ni mo hanasenai
Nayami no tane ga aru no desu

Dear sir if you’re reading this letter
Where are you and what are you doing
When I was 15 I couldn’t talk with anyone
In that time I was very worried about that

Mirai no jibun ni atete taku tegami nara
Kitto sunao ni uchiakerareru darou

If I write a letter to my future self
Surely I could confess with simplicity

Ima, makesou de nakisou de
Kieteshimaisou na boku wa
Dare no kotoba wo
Shinji arukeba ii no?
Hitotsu shikanai kono mune ga
Nando mo barabara ni warete
Kurushii naka de ima wo ikiteiru
Ima wo ikiteiru

Now, losing together, crying together
I go out for search
In which words I have to believe for keep walking
How many times this heart had been broken?
Even that hurt us, we’re gonna live
We’re gonna live

Haikei arigatou
Chuugo no anata ni
Tsutaetai koto ga aru no desu
Jibun to wa nani de
Doko e mukau beki ga
Toitsuzukereba mietekuru

Dear sir thanks to your 15teen self
I want to tell you about things that had happened
Why do I have to face myself?
If I had come to see the issue

Areta seishun no umi wa kibishii keredo
Asu no kishime e to
Yume no fune yo susume

The stormy seas of youth are harsh but
A boat of dreams will lead you to tomorrow’s shore

Ima, makenai de nakanai de
Kieteshimaisou na toki wa
Jibun no koe wo shinji arukeba ii no
Otona no boku mo kizutsuite
Nemurenai yoru wa aru kedo
Nigakute amai
Ima wo iketeiru

Now don’t lose, don’t cry
In the moment when they disappear
I believe in my own words to keep walking
My adult self it’s damaged too
And don’t sleep at nights but
My sweet pain lives now

Jinsei no
Subete ni imi ga aru kara
Osorezu ni
Anata no yume wo sodatete

From all the sense of live
The fear of believe in your dreams
Keep on believing…

Lalala, lalala
Keep on believing
Lalala, lalala
Keep on believing
Keep on believing
Keep on believing

Ima, makesou de nakisou de
Kieteshimaisou na boku wa
Dare no kotoba wo
Shinji arukeba ii no?
Ah, makenai de nakanai de
Kiete shimai souna boku wa
Jibun no koe wo
Shinji arukeba ii no
Itsu no jidai wo
Kanashimi wo
Sakete wa torenai keredo
Egao wo misete
Ima wo ikiteikou
Ima wo ikiteikou

Now, losing together, crying together
I go out for search
In which words I have to believe for keep walking
Now don’t lose, don’t cry
In the moment when they disappear
I believe in my own words to keep walking
Mistakes from all the ages and sadness
We can’t prevent
Show a smile, we’re gonna live
We’re gonna live

Haikei kono tegami yonde iru anata ga
Shiawase na koto wo
Negaimasu

Dear sir if you’re reading this letter
Hope it brings you happiness

Credits to: Yuki911

Official Website

http://www.sonymusic.co.jp/Music/Info/AngelaAki/

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 08 2008
jlyn101

ah, thank you for putting this up~!!! This song somewhat reminds me of myself, hehe X)

I was considering of sacrificing my sleep by looking out on this on nhk in my place (which is like 1.50am on Wednesdays Malaysian time). Now I can sleep as usual XD. Thanks again!

Long live Angela-san~!!!

4 08 2008
Loris

Thank you! I don’t like this translation very much :/. I’ve found a better one:

Dear you,
Who’s reading this letter
Where are you and what are you doing now?

For me who’s 15 years old
There are seeds of worries I can’t tell anyone

If it’s a letter addressed to my future self,
Surely I can confide truely to myself

Now, it seems that I’m about to be defeated and cry
For someone who’s seemingly about to disappear
Whose words should I believe in?
This one-and-only heart has been broken so many times
In the midst of this pain, I live the present

Dear you,
Thank you
I have something to tell the 15-year-old you

If you continue asking what and where you should be going
You’ll be able to see the answer

The rough seas of youth may be tough
But row your boat of dreams on
Towards the shores of tomorrow

Now, please don’t be defeated and please don’t shed a tear
During these times when you’re seemingly about to disappear
Just believe in your own voice
For me as an adult, there are sleepless nights when I’m hurt
But I’m living the bittersweet present

There’s meaning to everything in life
So build your dreams without fear
Keep on believing

Seems like I’m about to be defeated and cry
For someone who’s seemingly about to disappear
Whose words should I believe in?

Please don’t be defeated and please don’t shed a tear
During these times when you’re seemingly about to disappear
Just believe in your own voice

No matter era we’re in
There’s no running away from sorrow
So show your smile, and go on living the present
Go on living the present

Dear you,
Who’s reading this letter
I wish you happiness

4 08 2008
Dlyan

oh! thank you

19 01 2010
Edwin

Here’s my interpretation:

Letter: Dear fifteen year-old me
by Angela Aki

Dear person who is reading this letter,
Where are you now, and what are you doing?

I’m fifteen years old now,
and there is no one I can talk to about my growing fears.
In a letter to my future self, I can probably speak honestly.

It seems I’m about to lose, about to cry,
about to disappear…..
Whose advice can I listen to?
More than once, how many times,
this heart has been broken.
Life is hard, life is hard.

Dear fifteen year-old me,
Thank you for your letter.
I have something to tell you.
If you keep asking yourself what to do and where to go,
the answers will come to you.

The stormy seas of youth are rough,
but a boat of dreams will lead you to the shore.

Don’t feel defeated, don’t cry.
When you’re feeling down,
you must believe in your own inner-voice.

Your adult self is also hurt,
and there are sleepless nights,
but I’m living a bittersweet life.

There is meaning to everything in life,
so despite the fear, make your dreams come true.

Keep on believing, keep on believing, keep on believing…..
It seems I’m about to lose, about to cry,
about to disappear…..
Whose advice can I listen to?

Don’t feel defeated, don’t cry,
don’t be depressed.
Listen to your own inner-voice.

Whatever our age, sadness can’t be avoided.
Put on a smile and keep on living,
keep on living.

Dear person who is reading this letter,
I wish you happiness.

(as interpreted by Edwin Stamm)

22 01 2010
Edwin

Ok, here’s a new, improved version – I got a little expert advice from my Japanese spouse! She didn’t like my liberal interpretation – but she did point out some key oversights I made:

Letter: Dear fifteen year-old me
by Angela Aki

Dear person who is reading this letter,
Where are you now, and what are you doing?

I’m fifteen years old now,
and there is no one I can talk to about my growing fears.
In a letter to my future self, I can probably speak honestly.

It seems I’m about to lose, about to cry,
about to disappear…..
Whose advice can I listen to and keep walking?
More than once, how many times,
this heart has been broken.
Life is hard, and I take it one day at a time.

Dear fifteen year-old me,
Thank you for your letter.
I have something to tell you.
If you keep asking yourself, “Who am I?” and “Where should I go?”
the answers will come to you.

The stormy seas of youth are rough,
but a boat of dreams will lead you to the shore.

Don’t feel defeated, don’t cry.
When you’re feeling down,
you must believe in your own inner-voice and move on.

Your adult self is also hurt,
and there are sleepless nights,
but I’m living a bittersweet life, one day at a time.

There is meaning to everything in life,
so despite the fear, make your dreams come true.

Keep on believing, keep on believing, keep on believing…..
Whe it seems I’m about to lose, about to cry,
about to disappear…..
Whose advice can I listen to and keep walking?

Don’t feel defeated, don’t cry,
don’t be depressed.
Listen to your own inner-voice and move on.

Whatever our age, sadness can’t be avoided.
Put on a smile and keep on living,
keep on living.

Dear person who is reading this letter,
I wish you happiness.

(as interpreted by Edwin Stamm with help from Eri Hirokawa)

Leave a Reply

