Troubles with Dailymotion videos?

6 08 2009

Dlyan

Some readers reports having troubles to play Dailymotion videos since few days.

I haven’t found why but it seems it’s since Dailymotion updated their upload page… (not sure yet).

For information, I upload all videos with visibility set to “Private” and not “Public” that’s why when to click on the videos you are redirected to Dailymotion homepage but “Private videos” can be perfectly play on the blog when you click on ‘Play’ button at bottom left.

For those who are getting troubles with that please report if you have any error messages, what’s your operating system and web browser, etc.

Test:

(This video is uploaded with private visibility like almost all videos here, please test and report if OK or not)

EDIT: Does it works using vodpod?

Actions

Information

34 responses

6 08 2009
Dlyan

works for me.

6 08 2009
EMI

doesnt work for me
I am on Safari and whenever i tried to click the play button (both the center one and the left bottom one)
it opens a new window and goes to the Dailymotion homepage

20 08 2009
Dlyan

Even if it opens a new window, select the original windows and see if it plays the video.

6 08 2009
EMI

Or do I have to create an account on dailymotion to see your videos?

6 08 2009
Dlyan

thanks for the feedback athena. I just made the test with my Mac.
Running on Leopard 10.5.8 and Safari 4.0.2 (without any particular settings or add-ons).

Here is what I got:
http://www.dailymotion.com/user/listentheworld/video/xa380z_test-2_tech?subtitle=en

Focus the vid, and simple click, plays the video.
I don’t have to get a account to play my videos.

My videos can be played only on my blog, if it opens a new windows it will bring you to Dailymotion homepage.

Can you try with firefox for example.

6 08 2009
facevoid

doesn’t work for me either.

Chrome, XP here.
i guess i complained ’bout this quite long ago :X

6 08 2009
Dlyan

thanks for the feedback facevoid , do you have the same issue as athena or something else?

I installed Chrome v2.0.172.39 on my office computer with XP Pro SP3 to make the test.

When I click once on the video, it plays normally.
When I double click it opens Dailymotion homepage because my video is private.
Chrome is set to default, I didn’t make change any options.

Look the result:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/subtitle/edit/xa32ty_test_tech?subtitle_lang=en

Can you try with Internet explorer or firefox?

8 08 2009
shuJi89

i’m same with facevoid.

doesn’t work, i’m use chrome and xp here

8 08 2009
Dlyan

tell me what happens?

8 08 2009
Aditya

The video posted in this website works for me. But the videos in Dailymotion website aren’t working. The whole website loads except for the actual video itself, ads, and the box for the selection of similar videos available all aren’t visible. Annoyingly, the links at the top of the screen such as home, community, channels, etc. aren’t responsive and I can’t seem to view any of the help related pages either. From yesterday I’m unable to view any videos. All the other video related sites like YouTube, veoh etc., seems to work without any problems.

8 08 2009
Dlyan

wow!

9 08 2009
EMI

Actually, it could be area restrictions!?

I really have no idea why this is happening

9 08 2009
Dlyan

Humm… I don’t think so. It just should not open a new window when you click on the video… It’s most like a web browser’ problem.

11 08 2009
Aditya

Problem solved for me. I don’t know why or how..but now I’m able to watch videos on Dailymtoion normally. I guess this is due to the Dailymotion working on their site. Anyhow my problem is solved. Thanks to all.

11 08 2009
Dlyan

Yeah, It’s good to hear that, thanks for the feedback.

24 08 2009
bun

doesn’t work for me as well.. when i click on the play button of your video, it redirect to dailymotion homepage..

24 08 2009
Dlyan

It redirect with a new window or new tab or does it refresh the page? Because even if it open a new window or tab without closing the original page the video should play if you re-select the original page.

You click on the video, if it opens a new window or new tab, close it and see if the video plays on the original page.

Could you try that and give me a feedback.

Thanks.

24 08 2009
bun

previously, when i click on the start button it redirected to Dailymotion homepage in a new window. there is no videos related to “ROCK IN JAPAN 2009: Video!” as in ur blog on the dailymotion homepage..

and the next time i try to play your video (after u reply my comment), it redirected to this page
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xa8xuy_rock-in-japan-fes2009-yyy_music
in a new tab.. still it cannot be played in its original page.. but, that’s ok since it works on dailymotion page.. thanks anyway on ur afford to fix the problem.. =)

24 08 2009
Dlyan

I changed the video’s policy for you (from Private to Public) that’s why you can watch it on Dailymotion page but I can’t guarantee that I keep this policy for next videos…

Can I know what webrowser you’re using, your operating system and your country?

Thanks.

24 08 2009
bun

ok.. i c.. though the problem fixed.. btw, i’m using Mozila, XP and from Malaysia.. maybe it’s area restriction..

29 08 2009
aron94

Dylan i want to watch the video but it doesn’t play at all. whenever I click the play button, they will direct me to a new page

1 09 2009
Dlyan

Anyone can tell me if videos works using vodpod?

http://vodpod.com/dlyan/listentheworld

3 09 2009
aron94

Dlyan is the same no different

2 05 2010
Black

Well, I don’t know what to say… I use Dailymotion and Youtube for my Wordpreess blog. I can see videos normaly when I use Google Chrome. From both video sites. But when I use Mozilla I can see just those ones from Youtube. Space where I should see videos from Dailymotion are blank. Like I never posted a video.
I checked my PC and all works fine, I have installed all I need. Flash players, etc. But still zero… :( I Googled and tried to find the solution, and zero again… :(
Anyone maybe has an answer to that?

3 05 2010
Dlyan

You ID video must be wrong, can you see my videos?

4 05 2010
Black

ID’s are ok, I checked that also. I can watch all Dailymotion videos from every browser beside Mozilla. I watched your videos now too, mine also (on Google Chrome) but on Mozilla there is still a blank space…
I guess there’s some mistery going on, lol.
Anyway, thank you for your reply… :)

28 08 2010
emperorbananaketchup

same here…I had a DailyMotion homepage full of NSFW stuff that I’d like to share onto my new blog but when I try to click it on Firefox it redirects me to my DM homepage

4 10 2010
nikhil joshi

unable to play any videos. above test doesnt work for me.

I tried it on IE as well as firefox but no success

Please assist

4 10 2010
Dlyan

Can you even see the video or the “Play” button ? What’s happen when you click on “Play” ?

13 12 2010
Bel

I have problems viewing daily motion videos lately. The page loads but the video doesnt load when i press play. What’s the problem?

3 04 2011
mrstar13

i cant watch a video. i’m using chrome on windows 7. problem is, the video box is not shown, though it plays because there’s sound. is it flash player problem? i tried it on IE too. same results.

9 04 2011
Dlyan

Thanks for your feedback.

6 04 2011
bhushanam

i have downloaded the videos from dailymoton usng internet download manager burt i was unable to play the downloaded videos. please suggest a solution.
thankng you,

27 04 2011
Tea

Seem Dailymotion have the embed problem in some country, Dlyan I have the same problem with you and I live in Hong Kong. When I pressed the play button, nothing happened even not redirect me to dailymotion website, but the video can play within dailymotion website.

I found out I only can embed the video created by motionmaker or office user(their video content a HQ or HD icon).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

